Dear Pandora

Posted: June 8, 2010 in June
Tags: , , ,

Dear Pandora,

It’s me again. I really don’t have much to complain about this time. I am sure you are breathing a sigh of relief. No, it’s just 1 in the morning and I couldn’t sleep. Futurama isn’t on and I don’t have any good ideas for my story right now. I am sure you are wondering why this would incline me to write to you. I really have no idea. It seems like a logical thing to do at 1 a.m. No, not really. The logical thing to be doing is sleeping. But I don’t seem to be doing that much anymore. I don’t know why.

In this world of laws of physics and laws of mechanics does logic really rule? Most people don’t seem to use logic very often now…I wonder why? It seems like an easy enough thing to do. Just thinking ahead or being prepared. I don’t know. Maybe people are just getting lazy with thinking. It had to happen someday. We are lazy in work and play, why not thinking as well?

I’ve been considering something. I watched the new Alice in Wonderland movie. The Hatter keeps asking “Why is a raven like a writing desk?” Does he really expect an answer was the first thing I wondered? But then I started really thinking about it. How can a raven be like a writing desk? My first thought was perhaps the writing desk is rather old and creaks. And furthermore if a person could squeak the writing desk just right maybe it could sound like a caw from a raven…therefore they both caw. But that isn’t right either I suppose. That doesn’t apply for all writing desks and all ravens.

My second thought was perhaps something with symbolism. The raven could resemble death or despair. But what of the writing desk? What would a writing desk be symbolic of? Writing? Messages? Knowledge? Perhaps knowledge. A person must have knowledge to have the ability to write instead of just scribble on the paper. And a person must have knowledge to consider death…Perhaps this is it! A raven is like a writing desk because they both resemble in some way knowledge. Perhaps this is the answer…I am not sure…Or perhaps logic…logic is another form of knowledge…isn’t it? The logic to write and the logic of thinking ahead that there is an end for all people…What do you think?

Your very sleepy something,

Alice

Leave a Reply

