Sure…Whatever You Say

Posted: September 3, 2010 in September
Tags: ,

I don’t think people are naturally wise. People do stupid things all the time and they never seem to learn from their mistakes. I know I certainly haven’t learned from my mistakes, I keep making the same ones…But you’d think after so many years a person would realize what the consequences of an action could be…No, they don’t.

My mom is moving in with her boyfriend (Yeah it’s way weird to have a mom dating when you aren’t…). I think it’s an extremely bad idea. She tells me that it’s more expensive for her to have an apartment and buy food for both her self and her boyfriend than if she just moved in with him. I have  very simple solution, don’t buy him food! If you’re spending so much time at a person’s home that you chip in to help pay for food something is severely wrong. I was hoping she’d realize that I am very uncomfortable with her decision, but I suppose she hasn’t caught my hints. I spent most of my time at my mom’s apartment over the past year or so and I really liked it there. It was worth the rent she was paying, or so I thought.

My mom has a bad tendency of taking every relationship very seriously, a tendency she passed on to me, I just pray I never think that something could work so well to just drop everything for that person…Every relationship I’ve heard of from her has ended with her moving into some guys apartment, him practically moving in with her or marriage. I’ll admit I understand her wanting to have someone, but I don’t know, I guess I’d hoped she’d grow out of that…

Comments
  1. grandpa says:

    You would be astonished if you knew how many people just like you and your mother are out there. In my blog I talk about relationships that work and how we know when we love someone, but one of the most important thing I talk about that you may find interesting is “making good decisions”. My guess is that you and your mother are fairly emotional people, therefore some of your decisions, no matter how rediculous they may seem, are going to be made emotionally; and it’s a fact that most people don’t often make good decisions when they do so on emotion. The question is: what emotions are at work that are making someone make those bad decisions? In your mother’s case, she is probably lonely, and being “with” a man helps calm that emotion. She probably “needs” a man in order to feel good about herself, and I could go on and on about the emotions that are feeding what you see as bad behavior from her. I also have a blog article about how important it is to “know yourself” and many times knowing your tendencies halps prevent making bad decisions. There’s a lot more I could say but you may just want to visit my blog at http:grandpasdiary.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

