Reality Check

Posted: April 1, 2011 in April
Tags: , , ,

I think I may have realized something tonight. It’s something that depresses me, but it may have some truth to it…Maybe guys don’t try to date me here because of my friends. I hang out with girls that are independent, loud, lesbian or bisexual and they don’t care what others think. You try to tell them to calm down and it just doesn’t do any good. Trying to be the person with some control is unheard of and when I try to leave they ask if I am PMSing again.

I love my friends and I don’t want to imagine my life here in college without them, but no matter how hard I try to think that the world today is understanding and you can be different, I know I am wrong. Being different isn’t a good thing. Being loud and carefree isn’t a good thing to be. Not caring what anybody thinks just gets you labeled as weird or undesirable.

Do I really have to give up my new found freedom to just make life here a little simpler? I don’t see why I didn’t see this before…But what can I do? I hate the thought that I am conforming, but life is about sacrifice and I can afford to sacrifice some things…

Leave a Reply

